RTS Scotland announces winners of the 2024 Programme Awards

Industry News  |  17 June 2024

Scotland’s television industry was celebrated at an award ceremony in Glasgow on 13 June, as the Royal Television Society (RTS) Scotland announced the winners of the 2024 Programme Awards.

Shereen Cutkelvin and Sanjeev Kohli, Presenters of the 2024 RTS Programme Awards

Presenters Shereen Cutkelvin and Sanjeev Kohli handed out 25 awards to winners at Glasgow’s Fruitmarket; and Amy Irons carried out interviews with jubilant winners behind-the-scenes.

Among those receiving awards were Phyllis Logan for her performance in Shetland, whilst Conor McCarron won best Actor for his performance in Dog Days, which also won the Drama Award. BBC’s Two Doors Down picked up the Comedy Award; Designing the Hebrides was victorious in Entertainment and Features; and Hamza Yassin won the On-Screen Personality Award.

Neil Forsyth won best Writer for Guilt series 3; whilst Vigil Series 2 won in the Sound category. STV News at Six (North) won the News Award, whilst Disclosure picked up the Current Affairs prize.

The Special Contribution Award was presented to talented Editor, Chris Buckland, who has credits on multiple high profile scripted and unscripted TV shows including Guilt, Shetland, Taggart, Cutting Edge and Take The High Road. Testimonials from across the industry describe Chris as instrumental in the development of many careers, being generous with his time and expertise, providing opportunities for development and acting as a mentor – always with patience, a critical eye and a brilliant sense of humour.

The full list of winners can be found below.

TV is an exciting industry to work in which brings joy, information, drama and insight to viewers across the world, and the talent and hard work that goes into creating the brilliant content that we’re celebrating is nothing short of exceptional. We at RTS Scotland are incredibly proud to celebrate and support Scotland’s TV talent.

Stephen O’Donnell, Chair of RTS Scotland

I absolutely love presenting these awards and meeting the talented people behind some of the best shows on TV! This year’s ceremony has been an absolute blast, I’m blown away by what Scotland’s TV industry has achieved in 2023.

Shereen Cutkelvin, Presenter of 2024 RTS Programme Awards

The RTS is an educational charity promoting the art and science of television, organising informative and entertaining events and making connections with professionals across the industry and those hoping to break into television. The RTS Scotland Programme Awards 2023 are sponsored by Channel 4, ScreenSkills HETV Skills Fund, Screen Scotland and The Nerve. They are also supported by Celia Sinclair (Young Journalist Award).

RTS Scotland Programme Awards 2024 winners

Actor – Female

  • Phyllis Logan, Shetland (Silverprint Pictures for BBC One)

Actor – Male

  • Conor McCarron, Dog Days (Channel X Hopscotch for BBC Scotland)


  • Fergus Gill, Scotland: The New Wild (Maramedia for BBC Scotland)


  • Ranger Hamza’s Eco Quest (Hello Halo Kids for CBeebies)


  • Two Doors Down (BBC Studios Comedy Productions for BBC One)

Current Affairs

  • Disclosure: The Dog Dealers (BBC Scotland/Disclosure for BBC Scotland)


  • Make it at Market (Flabbergast TV for BBC One)

Director: Non-Scripted

  • Stephen Bennett, Keeping it Up: The Story of Viagra (Two Rivers Media for BBC Two)

Director: Scripted

  • Simond Hynd, Ghosts (Monumental Television in Association with Them There for BBC)

Documentary and Specialist Factual

  • Loch Ness, They Created a Monster (Indelible Telly and Hopscotch Films for BBC Scotland)

Documentary and Specialist Factual: Arts and History

  • Becoming Frida Kahlo (Rogan Scotland for BBC)

Documentary and Specialist Factual: Science and Natural History

  • Keeping it Up: The Story of Viagra (Two Rivers Media for BBC Two)


  • Dog Days (Channel X Hopscotch for BBC Scotland)

Entertainment and Features

  • Designing the Hebrides (DSP for BBC Two & BBC Scotland)

Impact Award

  • Firecrest Talent Development (Firecrest Films for BBC Scotland)

Live Event

  • A Scottish Service of Thanksgiving and Dedication (BBC Scotland Productions for BBC One)


  • STV News at Six (North) (STV)

On-Screen Personality

  • Hamza Yassin

Post Production: Editing

  • Chris Buckland for Guilt (Expectation and Happy Tramp for BBC Scotland and BBC2)

Post Production: Motion Design and Animation

  • Future Genesis – Oakley (Revenant for Oakley)

Short Form

  • Hen Do (Goldie Luck Productions for BFI Player)


  • Vigil (World Productions for BBC One)

Student Award

  • Care (Edinburgh Napier University)


  • Neil Forsyth, Guilt (Expectation and Happy Tramp for BBC Scotland and BBC2)

Young Journalist (presented in memory of George Sinclair)

  • Ronnie Charters, STV

RTS Special Contribution Award

  • Chris Buckland

UK Screen Alliance SUPPORTERS